Women’s Prize for Fiction: 6 finalists named


Canadian-American author Ruth Ozeki is among the many finalists for this 12 months’s U.Okay.-based Women’s Prize for fiction.

Ozeki’s bibliophilic novel “The Book of Form and Emptiness” is on the quick listing for the 30,000-pound (C$48,000) prize, introduced Wednesday. It’s a couple of boy who begins to listen to voices after the demise of his father and finds solace in his very personal ebook.

Ozeki’s 2013 novel, “A Tale for the Time Being,” received the L.A. Times Book Prize and was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. The writer splits her time between Western Massachusetts, New York City, and British Columbia.

Acclaimed U.S. writer Louise Erdrich can be vying for the celebrated prize along with her twenty third novel “The Sentence,” set in a haunted Minneapolis bookstore.

Also on the six-book quick listing is Trinidadian standup comic Lisa Allen-Agostini’s Caribbean story of gender violence and liberation, “The Bread the Devil Knead.”

The finalists additionally embrace New Zealand writer Meg Mason’s daring and humorous novel about love and psychological sickness, “Sorrow and Bliss”; Turkish-British writer Elif Shafak’s Cyprus-set love story “The Island of Missing Trees”; and U.S. author Maggie Shipstead’s “Great Circle,” the story of a pioneering feminine aviator and her legacy.

Founded in 1996, the prize is open to feminine English-language writers from all over the world. Previous winners embrace Zadie Smith, Tayari Jones and Maggie O’Farrell. Last 12 months’s winner was Susanna Clarke’s literary fantasy “Piranesi.””

The winner of the 2022 Women’s Prize will chosen by a jury led by British journalist Mary Ann Sieghart and introduced June 15 at a ceremony in London.

— With information from The Canadian Press

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.